Cycling women’s team sprint wins silver… loses to China in final

South Korea’s women’s team sprint team won the silver medal on the first day of cycling track events.

The team of Hwang Hyun-seo (Daegu Metropolitan City), Choi Jong-young (Sangju City) and Kim Ha-eun (Naju City) clocked 50.012 seconds in the women’s team sprint final against the Chinese team of Guo Yufang, Bao Sanzu and Yuan Liying on Saturday afternoon at the Jiexiu Velodrome in Chunan, Zhejiang Province, China.

The gold medal-winning Chinese team’s final time of 46.376 seconds is an Asian Games record.

The team also clocked 49.621 in qualifying, finishing second behind China (47.413).

After finishing second in the first round, the team advanced to the gold medal match against India (52.33), where they posted a time of 48.955, but were unable to overcome China.

The team was comprised of Lee Hye-jin (Seoul Metropolitan Government), Hwang Hyun-seo, and Choi Jong-young, who were the strongest in Korea in the qualification and first round, with Kim Ha-eun replacing Lee in the final.

The winning team, China, clocked a 46-second time (46.900) in the first round.

A total of seven teams competed in the women’s team sprint event.

Based on the qualifying order, the second-place team played the seventh-place team, the third-place team played the sixth-place team, and the fourth-place team played the fifth-place team in the first round. China, the top qualifier, played the first round without an opponent.

The two teams with the best records out of the four teams, including China and the three teams that beat their opponents in the first round, advanced to the gold medal match.

The cycling team sprint is a race in which two teams start at the same time from opposite sides of the track and complete three laps around the track.

Each lap is characterized by the leader leaving the track, meaning that the first lap is raced by three athletes, the second by two, and the last by one. 스포츠토토

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *